Navigation and service

Cooperation

Network AI in labour and social administration

How should AI be used by administrative bodies so that employees and citizens profit? The “Network AI in labour and social administration” initiated by the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs (BMAS) is dedicated to this question.

Artificial intelligence has the potential to improve the service provided to citizens, relieve workers performing repetitive tasks, reduce processing times and thus make public administration more efficient.

At the same time, particularly if AI is used in labour and social administration, all stakeholders involved in its introduction must look very carefully where and how AI is applied. That is because decisions made in this sensitive area can have significant impacts on the lives of citizens, for instance, in relation to the granting of social benefits. Statutory requirements must be observed in this context. For example, discretionary powers for decisions can be vested exclusively in humans.

AI already in selective use

AI is already used in selected areas by the Federal Employment Agency (BA), for pension and accident insurance - and with great success. For example, the Berufsgenossenschaft Energie Textil Elektro Medienerzeugnisse (BG ETEM), introduced an AI-based system in its legal recourse department, for which it received an award in September 2020 as part of the 19th German eGovernment Competition. The Federal Employment Agency has deployed AI-based image analysis in its family welfare department for automatically recognising certificates of study. Over the next few years, we can also expect to see AI used increasingly in other areas of labour and social administration.

To ensure that administrative staff and citizens also trust the AI systems used, these systems must meet the highest quality standards, be developed along human-centric lines and their decisions must be free of discrimination and comprehensible.

The AI-O coordinates the “Network AI in labour and social administration“

To discuss how best to guarantee these high standards, the AI Observatory is bundling the expertise of the relevant departments at the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs and of officials from the relevant business areas such as the Federal Employment Agency, the German Pension Board and statutory accident insurers in a network entitled “artificial intelligence in labour and social administration”.

Here, representatives from the ministry and the business area will hold detailed discussions regarding the scope for design in terms of dealing with AI in labour and social administration. The goal is to exchange experience at expert level and to develop policies for the use of AI in labour and social administration settings. This exchange of information will take place in AI Labs, which are due to be held – remotely to begin with – at regular intervals of four to six weeks up to autumn 2021.

Published at 03 Mar 2021 on the topic: Cooperation

Did you like this article? Share it with others:

back to top

Navigation und Service

Zusammenarbeiten

Netzwerk Künstliche Intelligenz in der Arbeits- und Sozialverwaltung

Wie sollte KI in der Verwaltung eingesetzt werden, damit Beschäftigte und Bürger*innen davon profitieren? Dieser Frage widmet sich das „Netzwerk KI in der Arbeits- und Sozialverwaltung“ des BMAS.

Künstliche Intelligenz hat das Potenzial, den Service für Bürger*innen zu verbessern, Beschäftigte bei repetitiven Aufgaben zu entlasten, Bearbeitungszeiten zu reduzieren und so die öffentliche Verwaltung effizienter zu machen.

Gleichzeitig müssen gerade beim KI-Einsatz in der Arbeits- und Sozialverwaltung alle an dem Einführungsprozess beteiligten Akteur*innen ganz genau hinsehen, wo und wie KI angewendet wird. Denn die Entscheidungen in diesem sensiblen Bereich können erhebliche Auswirkungen auf das Leben der Menschen haben, wenn es etwa um die Bewilligung von Sozialleistungen geht. Hierbei sind rechtliche Vorgaben zu beachten. So kann zum Beispiel der Ermessensspielraum bei Entscheidungen nur von einem Menschen ausgeübt werden.

KI kommt punktuell bereits zum Einsatz

In der Bundesagentur für Arbeit (BA), der Renten- und Unfallversicherung wird KI bereits punktuell eingesetzt - und das auch sehr erfolgreich. Die Berufsgenossenschaft Energie Textil Elektro Medienerzeugnisse (BG ETEM) hat beispielsweise in der Regressabteilung ein KI-gestütztes System eingeführt und wurde dafür im September 2020 im Rahmen des 19. eGovernment-Wettbewerbs ausgezeichnet. Die BA setzt in der Familienkasse KI-gestützte Bildanalyse für das automatische Erkennen von Studienbescheinigungen ein. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass KI in den nächsten Jahren auch in anderen Bereichen der Arbeits- und Sozialverwaltung verstärkt zum Einsatz kommt.

Damit die Verwaltungsmitarbeiter*innen und Bürger*innen den eingesetzten KI-Systemen auch vertrauen, müssen diese den höchsten Qualitätsstandards entsprechen, menschenzentriert entwickelt werden und die Entscheidungen diskriminierungsfrei und nachvollziehbar sein.

Das KI-O koordiniert das „Netzwerk KI in der Arbeits- und Sozialverwaltung“

Um zu diskutieren, wie diese hohen Standards am besten gewährleistet werden können, bringt das KI-Observatorium die Expertise der zuständigen Referate des BMAS und der Behörden des Geschäftsbereichs, also zum Beispiel der Bundesagentur für Arbeit, der Deutsche Rentenversicherung Bund und der Träger der gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung in einem Netzwerk „Künstliche Intelligenz in der Arbeits- und Sozialverwaltung“ zusammen.

Dort setzen sich die Vertreter*innen des Ministeriums und des Geschäftsbereichs detailliert mit der Frage auseinander, welche Gestaltungspotenziale es beim Umgang mit KI in der Arbeits- und Sozialverwaltung gibt. Ziel ist es, Erfahrungen auf der Fachebene auszutauschen und Leitlinien für den Einsatz von KI in der Arbeits- und Sozialverwaltung zu entwickeln. Dieser Austausch soll in sogenannten KI-Labs stattfinden, die in regelmäßigen Abständen von vier bis sechs Wochen zunächst virtuell bis Herbst 2021 geplant sind.

Veröffentlicht am 03. Mär 2021 zum Thema: Zusammenarbeiten

Hat Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen? Dann teilen Sie ihn doch mit anderen:

nach oben