Navigation and service

Use

Discussion paper for the “HTI” expert dialogue series published

Following its launch in August 2020, the HTI expert dialogue continued in January 2021 with the first of six workshops. The discussion paper for the dialogue series provides insights into the topics, goals and challenges.

HTI stands for “Human-Technology Interaction” or simply the cooperation between humans and machines. For the majority of AI experts and AI designers, the fact that humans should come first in this social-technological system is undisputed. Many principles, policies and catalogues of rules for the design of AI favour a human-centric approach. When it comes to using this technology in the workplace, this means that “colleague robot” should serve and support the human and not vice versa.

But how can this theoretical aspiration be implemented in practice? What does “human-centric” mean when it comes to developing AI applications?

From theory to practice

To move the debate surrounding the development and use of AI one step further, the AI Observatory (AI-O) initiated the expert dialogue “HTI – Working with AI” with the support of the Institute for Innovation and Technology (iit) in August 2020. In this series of six workshops on six different topics, experts from the fields of robotics and design, sociology and law, industry and trade unions as well as occupational health and safety and business practice will hold discussions together with topic sponsors.

To mark the start of the workshop series and the first year of the AI Observatory on 3 March 2021, the initiators at the AI-O and iit as well as the topic sponsors of the workshops have drafted a joint discussion paper. Entitled “Democratic Technology Design in the Digital Transformation”, they not only describe the content and goals of the workshops, but also the motivation behind the expert dialogue.

The design of AI – a “long-term challenge for society”

Their hypothesis: AI design is a “long-term challenge for society”. After all, AI is firstly an enabling technology on which many future innovations and applications will be based. Secondly, AI offers more than just a helping hand that can be used, for example, to replace monotonous tasks in production sequences, perform demanding physical work in factories or evaluate complex datasets in data centres. AI systems can do so much more: as it evolves, AI can also take on cognitive tasks that have been mainly reserved for humans up to now.

This begs the question as to what an appropriate human-machine relationship could look like? Only through dialogue can the opportunities of the technology be used – in the workplace, both for companies and, in particular, for employees.

The discussion paper shows that the three letters “HTI” present a “long-term challenge for society” – which is precisely where the expert dialogue “HTI – Working with AI” makes an important contribution.

The discussion paper “Democratic Technology Design in the Digital Transformation” of the dialogue series “HTI - Working with AI”

Published at 03 Mar 2021 on the topic: Use

Did you like this article? Share it with others:

back to top

Navigation und Service

Anwenden

Impulspapier zur „MTI-Fachdialogreihe veröffentlicht“

Nach dem Auftakt im August 2020 wurde im Januar 2021 der MTI-Fachdialog mit dem ersten von sechs Workshops fortgesetzt. Das Impulspapier zur Dialogreihe gibt Einblicke in die Themen, Ziele und Herausforderungen.

MTI – das steht für Mensch-Technik-Interaktion, kurzum: die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Mensch und Maschine. Dass in diesem soziotechnischen System der Mensch an erster Stelle stehen soll, ist für die Mehrheit der KI-Expert*innen und KI-Gestalter*innen unbestritten. Zahlreiche Prinzipien, Leitlinien und Regelkataloge zur Gestaltung von KI befürworten einen menschenzentrierten Ansatz. Für den Einsatz dieser Technologie am Arbeitsplatz heißt das: „Kolleg*in Roboter“ soll dem Menschen dienen, ihn unterstützen und nicht umgekehrt.

Doch wie kann aus diesem theoretischen Anspruch praktische Umsetzung werden? Was heißt „menschenzentriert“, wenn es um die Entwicklung von KI-Anwendungen geht? 

Von der Theorie in die Praxis

Um die Debatte über die Entwicklung und den Einsatz von KI einen Schritt voranzubringen, hat das KI-Observatorium (KI-O) mit Unterstützung des Instituts für Innovation und Technik (iit) im August 2020 den Fachdialog „MTI – Arbeiten mit KI“ ins Leben gerufen. In dieser Reihe von sechs Workshops zu sechs unterschiedlichen Themen diskutieren Expert*innen aus den Bereichen Robotik und Design, Soziologie und Recht, Industrie und Gewerkschaften sowie Arbeitsschutz und betrieblicher Praxis – gemeinsam mit Themenpatinnen und -paten.

Anlässlich des Starts der Workshopreihe und des einjährigen Bestehens des KI-Observatoriums am 3. März 2021 haben die Initiator*innen aus KI-O und iit sowie die Themenpatinnen und -paten der Workshops ein gemeinsames Impulspapier verfasst. Unter dem Titel „Demokratische Technikgestaltung in der digitalen Transformation“ beschreiben sie nicht nur die Inhalte und Ziele der Workshops, sondern auch die Motivation hinter dem Fachdialog.

Die Gestaltung von KI – eine „gesellschaftliche Daueraufgabe“

Ihre These: Die Gestaltung von KI ist eine „gesellschaftliche Daueraufgabe“. Denn KI ist erstens eine Grundlagentechnologie, auf der viele künftige Innovationen und Anwendungen beruhen werden. Zweitens kann KI mehr sein als nur eine helfende Hand, die z. B. monotone Aufgaben in Produktionsabläufen ersetzt, schwere körperliche Arbeiten in Fabriken übernimmt oder komplexe Datenmengen in Rechenzentren auswertet. KI-Systeme können mehr: In ihrer Weiterentwicklung kann KI auch kognitive Aufgaben übernehmen – diese waren bisher vornehmlich dem Menschen vorbehalten.

Wie also könnte ein angemessenes Mensch-Maschine-Verhältnis aussehen? Nur im Diskurs können die Chancen der Technologie genutzt werden – in der Arbeitswelt sowohl für die Unternehmen als auch im Besonderen für die Beschäftigten.

Das Impulspapier zeigt: Hinter den drei Buchstaben „MTI“ steckt eine „gesellschaftliche Daueraufgabe“ – und zu genau dieser leistet der Fachdialog „MTI – Arbeiten mit KI“ einen wichtigen Beitrag.

Das Impulspapier „Demokratische Technikgestaltung in der digitalen Transformation“ der Dialogreihe „MTI - Arbeiten mit KI“:

Veröffentlicht am 03.03.2021 zum Thema: Anwenden

Hat Ihnen dieser Artikel gefallen? Dann teilen Sie ihn doch mit anderen:

nach oben